PLN by any other name …

As part of our IRT unit we have been asked to develop our own PLN (Personal Learning Network). Naturally suspicious of anything new and alien, I pondered on the value and worth of a PLN and even wondered if I would use it beyond the parameters of the course.Then I had a little ‘lightbulb’ moment when I thought about what I usually do. When I need to research something, I go online and look at a variety of articles/ resources/ research until I find what I want. What do I do then ? Bookmark the link and save it to ‘favourites’ on my laptop. There it sits, in the midst of flight information, offers for plants, bread making sites and the general detritus of life !

Part of a PLN is to have designated places where all the educational/ work related stuff will go. All together, easy to find, hard to lose … What’s more, I can share that hard won information to save others the work and vice versa.

I think I’m just beginning to get it …

 

 

Leave a Reply

